LO17 Comparison to industry

Basically comparing your workflow and final goals/outcome to someone/something that you see as an influence/ reference. I chose to make future bass electronic music as I wanted to mimic the idea of the Apple TV as well as have drawn influences from other tv ads that have utilized electronic music composition in it. My blog got marked off but was very basic

The use of electronic dance music has been used a lot lately in commercials all around the globe, the biggest company that I know that use EDM in almost all their ads would have to be Adidas, this is because they want their ads being as energetic and full on as possible and coincidently EDM is energetic and full on. I have done a previous blog talking about how EDM makes some ads sound a lot better compared to others.

View blog here: https://nicholaslipsanos1005741.wordpress.com/2017/10/04/case-study/

I’m pretty happy with the way my composition for the commercial came out as it was my style and what I want to be making in the near future as a career. But the only let down was that you don’t hear as much dark dubstep in commercials it’s normally more heart racing consistent music like future bass or DnB something with a rhythm that’ll catch peoples attention. Sometimes companies will buy the rights to popular songs at the time lets say for example Google buys the rights to the most known Chainsmokers songs, why? Because of revenue and people will want to be watching the ad waiting for that 30 seconds where they can hear their favorite song and draw their attention to the TV to convince them to buy the phone.

But these commercials that use EDM help the genre grow and hopefully make more and more people want to listen to it, but for me, it gives me the inspiration to find the track and maybe use it as a reference track for my next song. I didn’t hear the original music placed on the ANTA ad until I had finalised mine and the difference was not what I expected, mine was dark and still had a consistent beat but the original had no rhythm to it and made it sound dull and not entertaining to someone watching the AD.

For example, Doritos have brought the copyright for this song by Diplo and have used it in their commercial why? because it’s popular and catchy.

I have created dubstep before and it was really challenging for me because the cuts weren’t done to a musical rhythm making it hard for someone like myself doing composition and not having a steardy video to work to. But in a way, I managed to put at least a kick or a snare when there was either a cutscene or someone hitting the ball, only because it gave a dramatic effect then after about 4 bars I switched everything up and gave it a fast rhythm, using different synths now to make everything more heart racing to suit what’s happening on screen. The same sort of effect was used in the original ANTA ad where whenever someone hit the ball or there was a cutscene something in the music happened. I feel like commercials with good and catchy music is what captures my attention.

A lot of the composition was me experimenting and trying to recreate what was happening on screen but in music, so in some points, you’ll hear some sounds pitching up and some spiraling down but these are purely matching what’s happening on the AD and what I personally think fits the AD. I didn’t really use my reference track as much as I should have but seeing the track still came out sounding alright and fitting the intensity of the ad was the most satisfying part of doing the project.

I did try to stick to my reference track and keep the same sort of rhythm and style happening but like said before, due to the video not being made to a musical rhythm it made it difficult.

But there was a lot of difference between my track and the reference track, starting off with sound design, my reference track was a lot more based on 3 different basses whereas mine there were different basses happening whenever something happened, the reference track also is very minimalistic but is still able to give off a lot of energy meaning if it was placed over an ad it would suit an ad for a sporting company like Nike. The other major thing to consider here is that in the music video for my reference track the track was made before the video, whereas now I’m creating a track for a video. But I do definitely know I should’ve aimed for something a lot like my reference track because it would’ve kept a musical rhythm that way and could’ve been used as a full song in the near future.

Reference track:

Watch my ad here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4ULEIRAaZwgbjRQMVVRXzV2ZkU

Leave a comment